Reviews

Carattino 12

90 5-Star Reviews

Robin | Atlanta, Georgia

September 4-7, 2021

Ruth’s hospitality was a above and beyond!! We felt so welcomed, informed, and taken
care! It wasn’t just a house, it was a home with a well stocked kitchen and cabinets full
everything we could need! Staying here enabled us to have the most perfect cinque Terre
experience!

Brian | Calgary, Canada

August 30 – September 2, 2021

What a fantastic experience, great place, location and amenities. Could not have been better, highly recommend this spot…Ruth knows the area very well and literally made our vacation. 10/10!

Joel | Switzerland

August 27 – 29, 2021

Wonderful place, good location, very clean. Absolutely recommend it. Many thanks from all of us for the warm and informative welcome. Exceeds our expectations.

Lilia | Denver, Colorado

August 19 – 27, 2021

Ruth’s home was so much more than we had hoped for. The pictures set a high expectation, but reality was beyond incredible! The views are to die for. The apartment is spotless and equipped with absolutely everything one might need on vacation. Ruth’s guide to Cinque Terre is so detailed and thoughtful. You will have no need to do much research on your own. Ruth might as well consider herself a professional in hospitality. This is one of those Airbnb situations when you really are better off than in a hotel. I already miss Ruth’s apartment. I’ve rented many Airbnb homes over the years in Italy and other countries. This is the absolute best experience

Federica | Busto Arsizio, Italy

August 6 – 10, 2021

L’appartamento è ancora più bello di come appare nelle foto. L’affaccio direttamente sul mare e il suono delle onde, lo rendono unico e perfetto per un soggiorno alle 5 terre. È posizionato nel centro di Vernazza, comodo per le escursioni ma anche per godersi la città stessa. Ruth è un’ottima “host”, attenta ai suoi ospiti e sempre molto cortese. I suoi suggerimenti per gite e ristoranti danno un valore aggiunto alla vacanza. Grazie Ruth!

Paul | Toccoa, Georgia

August 3 – 6, 2021

Idyllic aptly describes this beautiful, seaside apartment in Vernazza. With two patios, one with an incredible ocean view and the other overlooking the town, coastline, and majestic hills of Cinque Terre. The space is outfitted with custom flooring and cabinets with ample storage space, a roomy kitchen, and a great open living area. The location is literally steps from the piazza and train station, shops, resteraunts, etc. The best thing about this location is its attentive, professional host. You will be hard pressed to find a better communicator/faciltator/local guide than Ruth!

Mike | Dallas, Texas

July 2-5, 2021

Ruth is an incredible host. This is a family stay with absolutely amazing views! The gem of Vernazza.

Kristin | Greenwich, Connecticut

June 22 – 24, 2021

BEYOND ALL EXPECTATIONS! Beautifully renovated, supremely comfortable, immaculately clean, and ideally located apartment, with breathtaking views. Without a doubt the best place to stay in Cinque Terre. We didn’t want to leave! Ruth was the nicest and most thoughtful and attentive host imaginable, leaving us baskets full of goodies, Prosecco in the fridge, and a big bowl of cherries, fresh from the market that morning. Before our arrival she helped with dinner reservations and gave us advice for getting there. And on our last day when we couldn’t tear ourselves away, she generously offered a late checkout. Her guide to Cinque Terre is full of great suggestions for activities, shopping and restaurants. We particularly loved the pesto-making class at Nessun Dorma, the ceramics shop Fabbrica d’Arte, and dinner at Belforte with the best waiter, Andrea! Of course we told everyone that Ruth sent us there, and loved seeing their faces light up at the mention of her name. She is a fixture in the community, and as president and co-founder of Save Vernazza she is committed to preserving the beauty of this most perfect spot in the world and sharing her love of it with others. We will be back!

Sherri | Vail, Colorado

June 16 – 18, 2021

If we could give this place 10 stars we would! We had the most magical time, largely to Ruth and her fabulous hospitality. I can’t say enough good things. The condo itself is quite literally the best ocean view EVER, super clean and she even leaves nice welcome touches for you like fresh fruit. We felt so spoiled. Way above and beyond for the typical Airbnb. Thank you again!

Sunir | England, UK

Aug 5 – Aug 10, 2020

Ruth is more than a super host. She is more like a good friend focused on ensuring that every part of one’s trip even before arrival is supported with her wealth of information as well as her warmth and genuineness. Her apartment is perfectly located with two balconies, one with a timeless view over the Mediterranean Sea and the other immersed within the rooftops of Vernazza. This latter view allows one to truly feel like part of the Cinque Terre community, a true sense of escapism from our usual lives. As has been said many times over, the apartment is impeccably clean, wonderfully bright and airy as well as perfectly equipped with everything that one requires in a home. Ruth does not take any shortcuts and once again, the sense of being looked after is very real. Thank you Ruth for providing such amazing accommodation.

Andrea Christina | Horgen, Switzerland

Jul 25 – Jul 28, 2020

AMAZING place, home and host! The flat is extremely beautiful, clean, and in a perfect location! Ruth, our host was wonderful, extremely friendly, helpful and was anticipating all our needs throughout our stay! We (2 adults & 3 kids) truly loved it! Thank you for everything, Ruth!

Svetlana | San Carlos, CA

Oct 29 – Oct 31, 2019

Ruth’s place is amazing and I highly recommend it! The location is perfect and the views are spectacular! The apartment is very comfortable with many hospitality touches. Check in and communication was very smooth.

Jessica | Pordenone, Italy

Oct 16 – Oct 18, 2019

Best place to stay in Cinque Terre. The apartment overlooks a beach on one side and the city on the other. Ruth was a phenomenal host and provided us with all the information we could’ve hoped for to make our trip a success. This was our best Air BnB experience to date. Amazing.

Colleen | Steamboat Springs, CO

Oct 13 – Oct 15, 2019

Wonderful place, view and hospitality. Ruth was wonderful and went out of her way to meet us at the train station.

Nicole | Frederick, MD

Oct 7 – Oct 10, 2019

We did not want to leave. Amazing place beautiful views great food and plenty to do or nothing to do….your choice. Ruth was fantastic, the place has everything and a view!!!! We simply did not want to leave. This had to be the best stay available in Vernazza!!!

Erin | Denver, CO

Sep 27 – Oct 1, 2019

The perfect vacation home! Ruth made sure our stay was comfortable, with every amenity available. Location & views are amazing – staying here was a highlight of our trip. We’d love to visit Vernazza again, and if we do, we will definitely stay here again. Absolutely wonderful. Thank you, Ruth!

Hiltbrand | Ridgeway, WI

Sep 25 – Sep 27, 2019

We were a hot mess headed in late and flustered. The entire trip there, Ruth helped us with advice on what to do when our trains were late and all seemed impossible! We were expected to arrive much earlier than we did and Ruth welcomes us with smiles and such happiness that it felt like all would be okay. And it was more than okay! The apartment is something out of dreams! The views from every window and door are incredible! She thought of literally EVERYTHING! If I can get back to Italy, it will be to spend the entire trip at Ruth’s place! Vernazza was our favorite and had so much charm and wonderful shops, people, restaurants—you will not be disappointed! Ten stars!

Frank | New Melle, MO

Sep 12 – Sep 14, 2019

The home is much nicer than the pictures show – very well appointed, modern, and clean. A very lovely home with great view!

Nancy | Bellevue, WA

Sep 9 – Sep 11, 2019

This apartment is absolutely amazing! The best airbnb to date. She has amazing touches, great tips, fantastic beds, and fine hospitality. I highly recommend this apartment and plan to stay again soon!

Samantha | Chicago, IL

Sep 1 – Sep 3, 2019

This airbnb is worth every penny. My group of friends was a bit concerned about the price so we stayed at more budget-friendly options for the remainder of our trip, and we all agreed this one was entirely worth it! You’ll wake up to the sound of the waves crashing underneath you, then spend your morning barefoot on the patio watching the sunrise. Cinque Terre has my heart, and this apartment is, I promise, exactly where you want to stay in Cinque Terre. Two night was not long enough, I could have spent a full week here.

Brendan | New York, NY

Aug 22 – Aug 24, 2019

We’ve stayed in over a dozen Airbnbs, and this is hands down one of the best! We came here a year ago for our honeymoon and knew we had to come back again for our 1 year anniversary. Not only is this place spectacular in location and appearance, but Ruth is also the most incredible host. If you’re considering staying in Vernazza, do yourself a favor and book this place now!

Justin | Chicago, IL

Aug 20 – Aug 22, 2019

Ruth’s place does the pictures justice – incredible views, clean and updated, and very focused attention on her part to ensure a pleasurable stay. Thanks Ruth for showing AirBnB hosts how it could/should be done!

More Reviews for Carattino 12

Il Ciasso

99 Reviews:  98 5-Star Reviews + 1 4-Star Review

Graig | Cedar Rapids, Iowa

September 5-8, 2021

The accommodations were excellent, the location and views were excellent and Ruth thoroughly took care of us! We can’t possibly be happier with our stay! Everything was outstanding and the terrace really stuck out because it gave us a place to relax at the end of the day then enjoy a quiet coffee to start the next one…complete with a spectacular view of the Mediterranean. We are already planning our next European trip with the focus on seeing new places but we’ve decided that we must come back to this one. Thanks so much, Ruth!

Eduard | North Port, Florida

August 15-17, 2021

Perfect stay for Vernazza. The location is excellent. The apartment was super clean, new, with incredible views. Ruth was very helpful with plenty of great recommendations for food and things to do.

Chirine | Paris, France

August 8 – 10, 2021

Notre séjour chez Ruth était parfait! Ruth nous a aidé à réserver un parking avec navette alors que beaucoup étaient complets, un vrai plus pour une arrivée sans encombres! Nous avons fait un check in autonome, très pratique quand on n’a pas d’heure exacte d’arrivée ( nous étions en voiture ), les instructions étaient très claires et c’est également très proche de la gare si on choisit cette option. La vue sur la mer est imprenable… et l’appartement est nickel, pleins de petits attention de la part de l’hôte également, c’est très agréable! C’est situé à deux pas des commerces, restaurants et d’un lieu de baignade, et évidement bien placé pour situer les Cinque Terres. On recommande chaudement, le rapport qualité – prix est top.

Travis | Front Royal, Virginia

July 3 – 7, 2021

If I could leave 10 stars I would! This place is the absolute best Airbnb. Ruth is an amazing host with lots of helpful tips and a guide to the local area that I used like my vacation bible. And the apartment’s location, amenities, cleanliness, and beauty is beyond perfect (if that’s possible).

Jeff | New York, New York

June 28 – 30, 2021

Ruth’s place offers everything you could want from the Cinque Terre experience and more. Her patio offers breathtaking views of the hillside and Ristorante La Torre to the aqua waters—whether calm or raging—just below. Leave the windows open for the best natural sounds of your life as you fall sound asleep. In the same bedroom you can also open the shutters to a splendid view of the this gorgeous medieval town. You want a tip floor place in Vernazza, which this is—and why you have all the views you seek, but every step is more than worth it. The 2-story apartment is well laid out and feels like home instantly, and your every need is considered and provided for. What’s more, Ruth is a wealth of knowledge and should soon be best selling author of a cinque Terre travel guide, even if that is not he aspiration. Communication was impeccable too! Book now in confidence.

Natalie | Liverpool, UK

Sep 4 – Sep 8, 2020

Ruth is a wonderful host and her apartment is the most beautiful airbnb I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The apartment itself is modern and well equipped with everything you could need and more. Ruth is an extremely attentive host and clearly has a great eye for detail and pride in the accommodation she offers. The apartment is set in an idyllic location overlooking a small rocky beach and out to the beautiful Mediterranean sea. I will very much miss sitting on the balcony and listening to the ocean and I hope to be lucky enough to stay here again in the future.

Robert | Walhain, Belgium

Aug 24 – Aug 27, 2020

Perfect stay, thanks to the amazing place and the excellent welcome we had from Ruth!

Julius | Augsburg, Germany

Aug 19 – Aug 23, 2020

Worth any price! The apartment is beautifully situated with a fantastic view. We had wonderful days and will come back very soon. The hospitality and the great tips to get the most out of your holiday are really awesome.

Alison | Ballymena, United Kingdom

Aug 15 – Aug 17, 2020

I cannot recommend this apartment enough or Ruth who owns it. The apartment is one of those romantic little gems that you would never get bored of. It is beautiful and thoughtfully decorated and has everything you could possibly need provided. Ruth is an excellent host and gave us so much advice and help from the very start. We would never have managed the car parking or train without her help. She goes above and beyond and is passionate about the area and had excellent recommendations for activities and restaurants. The home was spotlessly clean and we wished we had booked a longer stay. We will definitely be back.

Anne | Paris, France

Aug 7 – Aug 12, 2020

Ruth est une super hôte et son appartement est merveilleusement bien placée et très confortable. Notre séjour à Vernazza chez Ruth a été excellent et nous reviendrons je l espère bientôt

Translation: Ruth is a great host and her apartment is wonderfully located and very comfortable. Our stay in Vernazza at Ruth’s was excellent and we will be back hopefully soon

Renato | Milan, Italy

Jul 30 – Aug 4, 2020

This place is awesome. the location, the apartment, the balcony… There you can find anything you need for a fantastic stay. Ruth is very nice and helpful and full of advices for exploring 5 terre at its best.

Robert | London, UK

July 24 – July 27, 2020

Just book it! It is worth every penny to stay in Ruth’s apartment. She is a fantastic host and we will miss the peaceful sound of the waves breaking on the beach below.

Kelly | Yardley, PA

Oct 28 – Oct 31, 2019

Book now!!!! Ruth’s home is amazing and the location and view is incredible! Ruth went out of her way to make us feel welcome. She met us at the train station and personally walked us to her home while showing us around along the way. Her place was sparkling clean and she had extra amenities like coffee, snacks, soap, shampoo, conditioner and even a bottle of Prosecco chilling in the fridge. Her list of tips for food, hiking, shopping and more was fantastic and we were able to relax and use her notes to guide our entire stay. We splurged a bit more on this AirBnb stay since it was our honeymoon, and it was worth every penny.  The best AirBnb experience we have ever had!!!

Ben | Massachusetts, USA

Oct 23 – Oct 26, 2019

Ruth made us feel right at home in Vernazza. The apartment is newly renovated, very clean, offers plenty of space, and a breathtaking view of the water on the private porch. Ruth was one of the best hosts we’ve had in all our travels – offering frequent and timely communication leading up to our trip, meeting us at the train station to help us with our bags, and giving us wonderful tips and recommendations of what to do in Cinque Terre. She made our honeymoon stay in Vernazza even better than we could have expected. Highly recommend this stay to anyone!

Sigrid | Reston, VA

Oct 10 – Oct 15, 2019

It is not accurate to call Ruth a superhost on Airbnb because that would equate her to so many others. There is no equal! Ruth is a Combination of Martha Stewart (sanz law breaking) and Rick Steves! She is generous with the amenities in the home with details such as umbrellas and walking sticks, maps and books, electrical connectors (a brief list!), and generous with her time in making your holiday a most memorable occasion by recommending and arranging the bookings you require for a perfect vacation! She knows business owners in Cinque Terre and makes arrangements happen. We’ve seen both apartments that Ruth manages and they are both gorgeous…and the view from both is incredible! Oh how we already miss that view!!! We had a magical time for our 30th anniversary in Vernazza – THANK YOU RUTH!!!

Alexandria | Royal Oak, MI

Oct 7 – Oct 9, 2019

BOOK. THIS. PLACE! You will not be disappointed. Ruth’s communication before we came to Italy was super generous, she checked in to make sure we didn’t need anything and sent us recommendations. When we arrived she met us at the train station which was greatly appreciated because we wouldn’t have been able to find the location. She also had it arranged so that our luggage was brought up to our place. She walked through everything very detailed and spoke with us like we were friends. This meant so much to us! We loved the location, we were close to downtown, but off the path. The view from our location was unbeatable and the space was beautiful. Ruth also checked in to see if we needed anything else during our stay. I know that by looking at the cost you may think you can find a more affordable option elsewhere but I promise you, you get what you pay for and you won’t be disappointed!

John | Salt Lake City, UT

Oct 2 – Oct 5, 2019

This place is the perfect place to stay while in Cinque Terre. The apartment is situated in an amazing location looking out into the ocean. Every morning you are greeted by the calming sound of crashing waves. My wife and I went on our honeymoon to Italy and chose Ruth’s place to stay while in Cinque Terre. It was so perfect. Everything you need is near by and there are the most amazing hikes, wine, and food to partake it. I highly recommend this apartment for anyone going to Cinque Terre.

Alessandra | Saint Paul, MN

Sep 25 – Sep 30, 2019

Book this place now! To us it was a bit of a splurge, so we were hoping it would be THE place to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary week. And it WAS! What an amazing stay! Our host Ruth was by far the best ever AirBnB host, best host – period – that we have ever had. What we loved: responsive communication, warm welcome at the train station with a porter to carry our luggage, gorgeous property, attention to every detail, outstanding hospitality, very helpful “Ruth’s Guide”, and excellent relationship with the best local restaurants getting us reservations and always a prime location table. The unit is well represented in the pictures which is why we booked it, but you get there and it is even more lovely! The architectural details (re-imagined by a Milan architect), the materials and finish, the decor, the very comfortable bed and plenty of pillows, tons of storage, super clean, the incredible views of the ocean…. loved every moment in that place. Ruth helped make our 27th wedding anniversary and our first visit to Cinque Terre one of our best celebrations and vacations ever! And we travel a lot and celebrate a lot! We are forever grateful. Vernazza to us was definitely the place to stay for our 5 day visit with lots of hiking in Cinque Terre. Til next time! Alessandra and Michael

Aaron | Toronto, Canada

Sep 23 – Sep 25, 2019

I have stayed at well over 100 Airbnb’s and this was one of the tops. Ruth is UNREAL. Responsive (and I mean fast and amazing responses) and caring. The place is absolutely spectacular but Ruth’s hospitality took it over the top. This is what living like a local is all about. Understanding the best places to go and taking away all of the anxiety of feeling like a tourist. The views are second to none, place was immaculate and in the perfect location. If you are lucky enough to get to book here, make it happen.

More Reviews for Il Ciasso